FM Diversion – Fargo Moorhead Area Diversion Project

Contact Us

contactbuttonQuestions or comments about the Diversion Project? Email us or comment about the Project on this website at “Comments About the Diversion”.

The purpose of the Flood Diversion Board of Authority is to build and operate a flood diversion channel along the Red River of the North to reduce the flood risk of the stakeholder communities and counties. The Diversion Authority and its members worked with the United States Army Corps of Engineers on the FM Metro Flood Risk Management Feasibility Study to develop the flood diversion channel project.

The Diversion Authority is led by nine board members from the stakeholder entities.

Flood Diversion Board of Authority Members

Darrell Vanyo, Chairman
Tim Mahoney – Mayor, City of Fargo
Nancy Otto – Moorhead City Councilwoman
Kevin Campbell – Clay County Commissioner
Mike Thorstad – West Fargo City Commissioner
Rodger Olson – Joint Water Resource District Manager
Ken Pawluk – Cass County Commissioner
Melissa Sobolik – Fargo City Commissioner
Mike Williams – Fargo City Commissioner

Flood Diversion Board of Authority
Box 2806
211 Ninth Street South
Fargo, ND 58108